COMMITTEE	Llŷn AONB Joint Advisory Committee
DATE	March 16 <sup>th</sup> 2022
TITLE	Membership of the Joint Advisory Committee
PURPOSE	Inform Members
AUTHOR	AONB Officer
RECOMMENDATION	Accept the Information

## **1.0 INTRODUCTION**

- 1.1 This report includes information on the membership of the Joint Advisory Committe (JAC) and the arrangements in place to alternate Gwynedd Council members. In accord with the JAC's constitution these changes are meant to take place following local council elections such as the one taking place on May 5th this year.
- 1.2 At present there are 11 electoral wards within the AONB (wholly or partially) i.e: Aberdaron, Abersoch, Buan, Botwnnog, Clynnog, Llanaelhaearn, Llanengan, Llanbedrog, Morfa Nefyn, Nefyn, and Tudweiliog. However, as a consequence of the boundary review, part of the Llanengan ward joins Llanbedrog and Morfa Nefyn joins Tudweiliog and also Aberdaron joins Botwnnog. The total number of wards in the AONB will then be reduced to 8.

## 2.0 EXISTING GWYNEDD COUNCIL MEMBERS

- 2.1 Following the most recent local elections held on May 4th 2017 Gwynedd Council members for the follwoing wards were invited to the Joint Committe:
  - Buan
  - Botwnnog
  - Llanaelhaearn
  - Llanengan
  - Tudweiliog
- 2.2 It was also decided later that the Gwynedd Countryside Champion became a member of the JAC. The present Countryside Champion represents the Llanbedrog ward which is within the AONB.
- 2.3 In accordance with the established order the membership period of these members now come to an end. We wish to thank these members for their time and support to the Llŷn Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty over the last 5 years.
- 2.4 After the election the intention is to invite members from other AONB wards to be members of the JAC. The boundary revision complicates matters slighly in this respect and there will be an element of overlap with areas which have been

represented over the last 5 years. The intention is to invite members from the following wards to sit on the JAC for the next period: **Pen Draw Llŷn** (Aberdaron/Botwnnog), **Abersoch a Llanengan**, **Clynnog**, **Morfa Nefyn a Thudweiliog** and **Nefyn**. Gwynedd's Countryside Champion will also continue to be a member.

## 3.0 OTHER MEMBERS OF THE JOINT ADVISORY COMMITTE

- 3.1 The other members of the JAC are:
  - Community/ Town Councils in the AONB
  - The National Trust
  - Llŷn Fishers Association
  - Natural Nesources Wales (member without vote)
  - Cyfeillion Llŷn
  - Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales
  - Abersoch and Llŷn Tourism Partnership
  - Farmers Union of Wales
  - National Farmers Union
  - Gwynedd Archaeological Trust
  - Arfon and Dwyfor Access Forum
  - Business Sector (empty seat)
- 3.2 The above bodies/societies choose their own representatives to sit on the Joint Committee.

## 4.0 **RECOMMENDATION**

4.1 Accept the information.